Christmas Round Up

I got taken out by flu Christmas week, and DS was sick the week before that. Being sick near/on Christmas is almost as much of a tradition for my life as trimming a tree or making a big Christmas dinner is.

That being said I was pretty worried I wouldn’t have the energy it takes to make a big breakfast and then cook all day to prepare dinner, but I managed to pull it all off! The boys were a big help cleaning the house so I literally only had kitchen duty.

I made Ree Drummond’s rosemary focaccia , Ina Garten’s herbed pork tenderloin with prosciutto, (which I also made last year but it was SO VERY GOOD I did it again), Giada’s butter lettuce and gorgonzola pear salad, lemon breadcrumb asparagus, Tyler Florence’s smashed potatoes with peas and pearl onion, and finished it all up with Williams and Sonoma’s cranberry pie, which I served a la mode.

I would make it all again. The pie had a little filling leftover, which was perfect along side the remaining gorgonzola, some rosemary crisps, sesame crackers, and a port wine cheese ball I had out when guests arrived.

We actually were kid-free last night, and were able to enjoy a date at a nearby gastropub I’d gotten a birthday gift certificate to. It was such a nice break from the kitchen and holidays.

That being said, and sickness in the house being taken into consideration, I am going to serve leftovers tonight as is. 😉 Happy holidays!

IMG_1367 (2)

I also should mention I won’t be working weekends any more, so my work week will be 4 days per week. I got a slow cooker as one of my gifts, so I’ll be trying out a lot of new recipes and hopefully remaking them in new and exciting ways! TBC!

Leave a comment